LIBERIA: President Weah Promotes Several AFL Personnel to Various Ranks

Source: Executive Mansion

The Commander-In-Chief of the Armed Forces of Liberia (AFL), President George Manneh Weah, on Monday, February 22, 2023 promoted several personnel of the AFL to various senior ranks, including Major, Captain and 2nd Lieutenant.

Among those promoted to the various Rank of Major within the AFL are Tarnue W. Woheel, Zoe J. Parwon, Edwin Sumowar, and Albertha J.N. Clark.

President Weah also promoted to the Rank of Captain Reuben Benedict, Leon J.S. Snorton, Lewis Johnson, Robin Vaye, and Bana G. Barqoui.

Also promoted to the Rank of 2nd Lieutenant by the President are Krubo K  Kaazaku, Aaron K. Massaquoi, Emmanuel-la P. Tarr, Siafa F. Siryon, Jr., Rebecca Freeman, Krubo G. Zayzay, Alpha Fofana, Jr., Gbermee P.V.  Pearl, Doris L. Sannoh and Alfreda Poquee.

Others are David P. Gbormelee, Nanu S.K. Welleh, Koiyan M. Keleko, David P. Nawa, Grant Yarmie, Sumo A.W. Harris, Jr., James B. Dahn, Joyce Williams, Malaytaye J. Waymah, Joseph P. Lincoln, Nathaniel B. Davis, Jr., Macee K. Zonie, Anderson P. Sharmos, and Philip N. Karpeh, Jr.

The Officers were nominated by President Weah on February 20, 2023 in keeping with Section 7.10 of the new Defense Act of 2008 and Article 54 of the 1986 Constitution which grants the President powers to nominate, and with the consent of the Senate, appoint and commission members of the AFL from the Rank of Lieutenant or its equivalent and above.

Subsequently, the Honorable Liberian Senate on February 22, 2023 held confirmation hearing for the officers. They are expected to be commissioned on Friday, February 24, 2023 at a colorful ceremony.

(Visited 60 times, 1 visits today)
About Joel Cholo Brooks 14055 Articles
Joel Cholo Brooks is a Liberian journalist who previously worked for several international news outlets including the BBC African Service. He is the CEO of the Global News Network which publishes two local weeklies, The Star and The GNN-Liberia Newspapers. He is a member of the Press Union Of Liberia (PUL) since 1986, and several other international organizations of journalists, and is currently contributing to the South Africa Broadcasting Corporation as Liberia Correspondent.
Contact: Website

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.