LIBERIA: President Weah Appoints Special Steering Committee of Special Economic Zone

The Liberian leader,  President Weah has appointed a Steering Committee (SC) of Special Economic Zone (SEZ) with immediate effect to create, drive, guide, enhance, coordinate and manage single, multiple and mixed-use Special Economic Zones (SEZs) in Liberia.

The Special Committee will ensure the establishment of the SEZ in Liberia beginning with the Buchanan Site. The Steering Committee consists of the following Liberian institutions:

  1. Minister of Finance and Development Planning (MFDP), Chair
  2. Minister of Commerce and Industry (MOCI), Member
  3. Minister of State Without Portfolio (MOS), Member
  4. Minister of Agriculture (MOA), Member
  5. Commissioner-General of the Liberia Revenue Authority (LRA), Member
  6. Chairman of the Liberia Land Authority, Member
  7. Executive Director of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Member
  8. Managing Director of the National Port Authority (NPA), Member
  9. Chairman of the National Investment Commission (NIC), Member

Private Sector and Development Partners nominated are:

  1. President of the Liberia Chamber of Commerce (LCC), Member
  2. President of the Liberia Business Association (LIBA), Member
  3. Country Manager of the African Development Bank (AfDB), Member
  4. Resident Representative of the International Finance Corporation (IFC), Member
  5. Country Director of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Member
Visited 220 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.