U.S., Canada, France, 11 others on Lagos watch-list, says commissioner

United States (U.S.), Canada, France, Ghana and 10 others countries have been watch-listed by the Lagos State government in the new measures announced to prevent the new COVID-19 variant from slipping into the Centre of Excellence.

The other countries are: Germany, Netherlands, Togo, Cameroun, Angola, South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda.

With 58,615 confirmed positive cases, Lagos accounts for more than a third of the 165,515 COVID-19 cases recorded by the National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) in 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Four hundred and thirty-nine of the 2,026 deaths occurred in the state, going by the NCDC statistics.

Health Commissioner Prof. Akin Abayomi, who announced the new measures at a news conference yesterday, said the state took the step following the discovery of variants from banned countries.

He also told Nigerians on pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia on Lesser Hajj to prepare for seven-day isolation when they return home.

Read more of this story

Visited 62 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.