Liberia, South Africa Agree To Visa Waiver

(LINA) – The Governments of Liberia and South Africa have signed a Visa Waiver Agreement for holders of diplomatic and official passports of their respective countries.

According to a Foreign Ministry release issued here Thursday, the agreement, which was signed on behalf of the Liberian Government by the Charge d’Affaires of the Embassy of Liberia in South Africa, Mr. Martin C. Alexwyn Karpeh, will come into force on Friday, May 4.

The signing of the agreement further strengthens the bilateral relations between Liberia and South Africa, and is a manifestation of the desires of both governments to promote trade and investment opportunities from respective countries, the release said.

It can be recalled that on August 11, 2017, former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf paid a two-day visit to South Africa during which priority areas of bilateral cooperation were discussed, which covered, among others, trade and investment, agriculture, health, construction, energy, telecommunications, finance and mining.

The Liberian Government has welcomed the signing of this important agreement and informed the public that only diplomatic and official ECOWAS E-Passport holders will be accorded exemption from Visa requirements by the South African government.

Visited 538 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.