23 African nations refuse to support a UN vote condemning Russia’s invasion of Ukraine

A man carries a box of humanitarian aid he received in the village of Nechvolodivka, Ukraine, Wednesday, February 22, 2023

TWENTY-THREE African nations refused to support a United Nations general assembly vote on Thursday condemning Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, which began a year ago.

The non-binding resolution called for a halt to the fighting and the withdrawal of Moscow’s forces.

Some 141 countries supported the resolution, but 32 abstained and seven voted against it — Belarus, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia and Syria, plus two African states, Eritrea and Mali.

Fifteen African nations abstained — Algeria, Angola, Burundi, the Central Africa Republic, Congo-Brazzaville, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Sudan, Togo, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Guinea-Bissau and Senegal all declined to take part in the voting.

Speaking earlier this week, Ugandan Foreign Minister Abubaker Jeje Odongo said: “We were colonised and we forgive those who colonised us. Now the colonisers are asking us to be enemies with Russia, who never colonised us; is that fair?”

Chinese deputy UN ambassador Dai Bing told the general assembly on Thursday: “We support Russia and Ukraine in moving towards each other… The international community should make joint efforts to facilitate peace talks.”

Read more of this report

(Visited 108 times, 1 visits today)
About Joel Cholo Brooks 14013 Articles
Joel Cholo Brooks is a Liberian journalist who previously worked for several international news outlets including the BBC African Service. He is the CEO of the Global News Network which publishes two local weeklies, The Star and The GNN-Liberia Newspapers. He is a member of the Press Union Of Liberia (PUL) since 1986, and several other international organizations of journalists, and is currently contributing to the South Africa Broadcasting Corporation as Liberia Correspondent.
Contact: Website

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.