Press Union Of Liberia, Internews Induct NMC Members

Respected Liberian Journalist and Lawyer, Cllr. Jeddi Armah and the Head of the National Civil Society Council of Liberia, Mrs. Loretta Pope-Kai have been elected as Chairman and Co-chairperson of the National Media Council (NMC), a self-regulatory body of the Journalism Community in Liberia.

The National Media Council was established to uphold media accountability and professional conduct in pursuant to the Code of Ethics for Liberian journalists and internationally accepted media ethical standards.

According to a PUL release, the election was held on Thursday in Monrovia at the induction and orientation of Members of the National Media Council.

The Council is comprised of nine members selected from essential bodies representing the media, which include: The Legislature, National Civil Society Council of Liberia, Women NGO Secretariat of Liberia, the Religious Community, Academia and the Media.

The members of the council inducted and orientated to the working of the self-Regulatory body are:

  1. Cllr. Jeddi M. Armah-Chairman
  2. Mrs. Loretta A. Poke-kai- Co-Chair
  3. Othello Tarbah- Member
  4. Atty. Oscar Bloh- Member
  5. Rev. Jackson T. M. Jallah-Member
  6. Mrs. Roseline Toweh-Member
  7. Euriah Togar-Member
  8. Dr. Mory Surmarworo -Member
  9. Lawrence Yealue- Member

Speaking at the induction and orientation of the National Media Council, PUL President Charles B. Coffey, Jr. told the new members of the NMC to discharge their duties with diligence and commitment to nation building.

Mr. Coffey stressed the need for self- regulation to be sustained and transform into a more robust regulatory regime through the establishment of the Independent Media Commission for Liberia.  He said there is an abundance of political will from the Weah Administration toward the enactment of an Independent Media Commission for Liberia.

Visited 61 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.