President George Weah Makes Additional Appointments In Gov’t, Power TV Anchor, Estella Liberty-Kermu Named To State Radio

Mrs. Estella Liberty-Kermu, Deputy Director General for Administration, Liberia Broadcasting System (LBS)

The Liberian leader, President George M. Weah has released a list of 83 cabinet appointments so far by President George Manneh Weah, subject to confirmation by the Senate, where applicable. Ministers-designate include: Prof. Wilson Tarpeh, Ministry of Commerce and Industry; Prof. Ansu Sonii, Ministry of Education; Williametta Piso Saydee Tarr, Ministry of Gender and Social Protection; Gesler Murray, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy; D. Zogar Wilson, Ministry of Youth and Sports; and Varney Sirleaf, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Interestingly, the name of Justice Minister-designate, Cllr. Charles Gibson, is not on the list, though his suspension by the Supreme Court of Liberia was lifted late this week, just days after he finally paid back money that he siphoned after collection on behalf of his client, foreign businessman Anwar Saoud. However, Presidential Press Secretary Sam Mannah told the Daily Observer that President Weah has not rescinded Cllr. Gibson’s appointment; therefore the appointment still stands.

Lenn Eugene Nagbe will remain at the helm of the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism (MICAT), as will Mary T. Broh at the General Services Agency (GSA); Ledgerhood Rennie, Liberia Broadcasting System (LBS); Florence Brandy, Montserrado County (Superintendent); and Lemuel Reeves, Liberia Immigration Service (LIS).

Also in the security sector, James Henric Pearson, Jr. will head the National Security Agency (NSA), while Trokon Roberts will head the Executive Protection Service (EPS).

President Weah has also appointed Archibald Bernard as Legal Advisor to the President; as well as CDC deputy secretary-general Janga Kowo, Comptroller General, Republic of Liberia; and CDC youth chairman Jefferson Koijee, Mayor, City of Monrovia.

The full list of names also includes deputy ministers-designate and director-generals-designate, a number of who are being retained from the Ellen Johnson Sirleaf Administration. Mannah also noted that the President, through these appointments, “is trying to demonstrate that he is dedicated to the empowerment of women and youth.”

Click To See Full List Of The Appointments

Visited 7,841 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.