LIBERIA: Pres. Weah Nominates New Relieving Judges for Circuit Courts, City Mayors

The President of the Republic, His Excellency, Dr. President George Manneh Weah has made nominations in government, affecting the Judicial Branch and the Ministry of Internal Affairs, particularly the local government of River Gee County.

President Weah on Thursday, October 13, 2022 nominated Cllr. Nyananti Tuah as Solicitor General of the Republic of Liberia.

The Liberian Leader said Cllr. Tuah nomination was based on his desire to play a more meaningful role in the promotion of peace, reconciliation and development of Liberia.

President Weah on the same day, nominated Cllr. Wesseh A. Wesseh and Cllr. Nelson B. Chinneh as Relieving Judges for the Circuit Courts, Judicial Branch of Government.

Additionally, Dr. Weah named Mr. Shelton Saydee and Mr. Taryee Toe as City Mayors of Kanweaken and Fish Town Cities, River Gee Counties respectively.

The nominations are subject to confirmation by the honorable Liberian Senate where applicable.  

In a related development, the Liberian leader has appointed an eleven-member non-statutory Board of Trustee of River Gee County Vocational and Technical Training Institute.

President Weah made the appointment Thursday, October 13, 2022 pursuant to Article VI Section 1 of the Act that created the Institution.

Those appointed include Dr. Moses S. Geply, Mr. Christian S. Chea, Mrs. Regina Vinton, Mr. Shadrach Teah, Mr. Williams Quaye, Mr. Chowolo Dickson, Madam Phebe Botiah, and Mr. George Kayee. Other members of the Board are Mr. S. Tayee Toe, Mr. Chea Cheapo, Jr. as well as Mr. Babbi Geeplay.

Dr. Moses S. Geply and Mr. Christian S. Chea will serve as Chairman and Co-Chairman respectively.

The appointed Board Members are directed to begin the formation process of the newly established institution.

(Visited 209 times, 1 visits today)
About Joel Cholo Brooks 13524 Articles
Joel Cholo Brooks is a Liberian journalist who previously worked for several international news outlets including the BBC African Service. He is the CEO of the Global News Network which publishes two local weeklies, The Star and The GNN-Liberia Newspapers. He is a member of the Press Union Of Liberia (PUL) since 1986, and several other international organizations of journalists, and is currently contributing to the South Africa Broadcasting Corporation as Liberia Correspondent.
Contact: Website

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.