L/R: Hon. Edwin Melvin Snowe, Jr. Hon. Alex Jenekai Tyler, Sr. Hon. Moima Briggs Mensah, Rev. Samuel R. Enders, and Taa Z. Wongbe

Five Liberian Parliamentarians Sworn-in at the Inaugural Session of the Sixth Legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament in Abuja

Embassy of Liberia, Abuja

(Abuja, April 4, 2024): Five Liberian Legislators, among ninety-seven parliamentarians from the ECOWAS region, were sworn in today as members of the Sixth Legislature of the ECOWAS Parliament.

According to a press release from the Embassy of Liberia in Abuja, Nigeria, those who took the solemn oath were Hon. Edwin Melvin Snowe, Jr. (Head of Delegation), Hon. Alex Jenekai Tyler, Sr., Rev. Samuel R. Enders, Hon. Momma Briggs Mensah, and Hon. Taa Z. Wongbe.

The Liberian Legislators will help implement the new agenda of the Sixth Legislature, which addresses interaction with community citizens, youth participation, and women’s empowerment, among other burning issues of regional integration and economic development.

His Excellency Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chairman of the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government, chaired the Sixth Legislature. He called on the new Legislators to address their duties with a common purpose in developing the ECOWAS region. “Amid ongoing challenges, our partnership can bring solutions to regional development problems,” Chairman Tinubu emphasized. He announced that he looked forward to the enhancement of the ECOWAS’s powers, including the direct election of parliamentarians in Member States.

Other distinguished participants in the inaugural session were His Excellency Ezenwo Nyesom Wike, Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Rt. Hon. Dr. Sidie Mohamed Tunis, Speaker of the Fifth Legislature, His Excellency Ambassador Yusuf Maitama Tuggar, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Nigeria, and His Excellency Dr. Omar Alieu Touray, President of the ECOWAS Commission.

The ECOWAS Parliament, also known as the Community Parliament, is one of the institutions of ECOWAS. It is the assembly of the Peoples of the Community, serving as a forum for dialogue, consultation, and consensus for Representatives of the people of West Africa to promote regional integration.

Visited 125 times, 1 visit(s) today

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.