As U.S. Federal Reserve Hits Hard On Liberia, Central Bank Of Liberia Governor Flies To Washington D.C

CBL Executive Governor, Nathaniel Patray

Following the United States Federal Reserve placing freeze on all transactions with the Central Bank of Liberia owing to the high-level of uncertainty surrounding the ongoing investigation into the missing billions controversy, a situation which seems to question the credibility of the CBL both locally and internationally, the Executive Governor of the CBL, Mr. Nathaniel Patray has reportedly left the country for the United States, according to our source.

Recently several senior Central Bank of Liberia officials are currently under investigation in connection with the missing billions currency and have been barred from leaving the country, even though the CBL in a statement said those who were barred are now free, but those heading the investigating panel including the Liberia National Police (LNP), National Security Agency (NSA) and the Financial Intelligent Unit (FIU) said those barred at the CBL will not leave the Country until the investigation is over.

Some financial experts who spoke to the GNN said the impromptus visit of the CBL Executive Governor of the bank may be a result of the United States Federal Reserves’ action to freeze all transactions at the bank, and hope his plead will be listened to.

Key among those ordered not to travel are Mr. Milton A. Weeks, Former Executive Governor Office of the Executive Governor, who previously oversaw the overall Management of the Bank and Mr. Charles E. Sirleaf Deputy Governor, responsible for Finance, Banking and General Services Departments.

Sirleaf is the lead signature on the CBL’s account with the Feds thus, the Feds are said to be uncomfortable dealing with Liberia without a legitimate signatory.

President George Manneh Weah recently established a Special Presidential Committee to probe the mysterious disappearance of L$16 billion from the vault of the Central Bank of Liberia (CBL) and the Monrovia City Court last week restricted the movement of 35 employees of the bank pending the outcome of the investigation.

The involvement of the court was triggered by a Writ of Ne-Exeat Republica prayed for by authorities at the Ministry of Justice (MoJ) to restrain persons of interest from leaving the jurisdiction of the court pending an action.

Also barred from leaving are: Mounir Siaplay, Dorbor Hagba, Richard H. Walker, Adolphus Forkpah, and Cyrus Badio, head of public affairs and Maria E. Grigsby-Toe, who reportedly led the team that took the container out of the Free Port. Others are Amie N. Rogers, Michael B. Ogun, James Wilfred, Joseph K. Jallah, Supuwood T. Tarpeh, Mussa A. Kamara, Mustapha E. Sherman, Sylvia Tarkpah, Joyce J. Dolo, George Wilson, Miatta Oberly Kuteh, Musulyn R. B. Jackson, Maaka Amnlard, Prince Bull, Solomon Jaykpah, Theodoria B. Jreh, Oldada Deshield, and Ophelia Nyenpan Barquolleh.

Visited 520 times, 1 visit(s) today

Comments are closed.