US Expands Sanctions Against Russia

The United States Treasury Department Tuesday imposed sanctions on 34 individuals and entities for previous sanctions evasion and other activities related to Russia’s involvement in Ukraine.

The Treasury also announced that a number of majority-owned subsidiaries of Russian state banks, Sberbank and VTB, as well as defense company Rostec would be subject to sanctions already imposed on their parent companies.

The measure supports “the U.S. commitment to seek a diplomatic resolution to the crisis in Ukraine” and “to a policy of non-recognition with respect to Russia’s purported annexation of Crimea," a Treasury statement said.

The U.S. sanctions would stay in effect until Russia fully implements its commitments under the Minsk peace agreement, “including the return to Ukraine of control of its side of the international border with Russia,” statement said.

Treasury listed different reasons for the 34 additions to the sanctions list:

Fourteen individuals and entities had helped previously targeted people and entities evade sanctions.

Six are Ukrainian separatists, who already were on the EU sanctions lists, accused of activities in violation of Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity. READ MORE OF THIS STORY ON VOA NEWS ONLINE

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.