Namibian President Pohamba Wins Ibrahim 2014 Award

After four years of no winner, President Hifikepunye Pohamba of Namibia has been named winner of the 2014 Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership.
Established in 2007, the Ibrahim Prize recognizes and celebrates excellence in African leadership.
It aims to also encourage leaders who fully dedicate their tenure of office to surmount the development challenges of their countries, improving the livelihoods and welfare of their people and consolidating the foundation for sustainable development.
The Ibrahim Prize is a US$5 million award paid over ten years and US$200,000 annually for life thereafter.
The Mo Ibrahim Foundation will consider granting a further US$200,000 per year for ten years towards public interest activities and good causes espoused by the Ibrahim Laureate.
According to a dispatch, the winner the 2014 Ibrahim Laureate was announced in front of an audience of the diplomatic community, civil society representatives and the media at a press conference in Nairobi.
The Chair of the Prize Committee, Salim Ahmed Salim said: “President Pohamba’s focus in forging national cohesion and reconciliation at a key stage of Namibia's consolidation of democracy and social and economic development impressed the ‎Prize Committee.”
The Ibrahim Laureate is selected by an independent Prize Committee, consisting of seven eminent individuals.
President Pohamba follows Presidents Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007), Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008) and Pedro Pires of Cape Verde (2011) as Ibrahim Laureates.
Nelson Mandela was made the inaugural Honorary Laureate in 2007.
In 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013 the Prize Committee, after in-depth review, did not select a winner.

(Visited 45 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.