LIBERIA: Six Lawmakers Withdraw Anti-Tyler Letter

Six members of the House of Representatives who demanded Speaker J. Alexander Tyler to rescue himself from presiding over sessions for his alleged link to a scandal have withdrawn their letter of January 12, 2015.

In another letter to Tyler, the legislators said “we by this withdraw our letter of January 12, 2015 and give notice that we shall engage the LACC (Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission) and all relevant institutions to ensure that the dignity of this Body remains intact.”

The letter, which was dated January 19, 2015 and read by the Chief Clerk of the Lower House, Mildred Sayon, was signed by Representatives William Twehway, Samuel Kogar, Robertson Siaway, Roland Cooper, Mary Karwor and Isaac Roland.
They also noted that the evidence provided in their first letter that the Speaker being a subject of investigation at the LACC was common knowledge, and hence, there was a need for evidence.

Following the reading of the letter, Plenary noted it, thus it was not open for discussion.

It can be recalled that the first sitting of the House of Representatives following its Annual Break on Monday, January 12, was characterized by confusion and disruption based on the demand of a segment of the lawmakers demanding that Tyler recues himself from presiding over session.

Speaker Tyler linked to a probe at the LACC over an alleged scandal involving US$25,000 of money from the National Oil Company of Liberia (NOCAL).

(Visited 39 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.