Liberian Senate Confirmed 146 Officials in 2014

The Liberian Senate has disclosed that it confirmed 146 nominees forwarded it by President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf in 2014.
Making the disclosure in session Thursday, the Secretary of the Senate, Nanborlor Singhbe, said the preferment cover all ministries and agencies of government for the period.
According to him, the President forwarded 148 names, but two were denied confirmation due to various reasons at the time of the committee hearings.
Even though, he did not name those rejected, Health and Education Ministers-designate, George Werner and Elizabeth Davis-Russell respectively, were two cabinet ministers nominated but who failed to get the Senate’s endorsement.
He indicated that the body during the year under review extended its regular session twice due to the ongoing Ebola health crisis and the passage of the Petroleum Laws and ratification of the lease agreement for oil block 16.
Singhbe also noted that two resolutions – emergency power for the president to contain the Ebola health crisis (001) and the suspension of the elections and the setting up of a new electoral date (002) – were issued by the Senate in 2014.

(Visited 31 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.