LIBERIA: President Sirleaf Makes Additional Appointments in Government

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has made additional appointments in Government affecting the Ministries of State for Presidential Affairs, Foreign Affairs, Commerce and Industry, Labor and Internal Affairs.

Other government parastatals include the National Commission on Higher Education, Liberia Refining Company, Central Bank of Liberia and the University of Liberia.

According to an Executive Mansion release, these appointments are subject to confirmation by the Honorable Liberian Senate, where applicable. Those appointed include:

Ministry of State for Presidential Affairs

Mr. Jordan Solunteh
Director General of the Cabinet

National Commission on Higher Education

Dr. Momo Rogers
Deputy Director General

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mr. Elias Shoniyin
Deputy Minister of the Foreign Affairs

Mr. Thomas Kaydor
Deputy Minister for International Cooperation

Ministry of Commerce & Industry

Mr. Franz Sawyer
Deputy Minister for Administration

Mr. Andrew G. Paygar-Flangiah, Sr.
Deputy Minister for Small Business Administration

Mr. Pewee Reed
Assistant Minister for Bureau of Small Business Administration

Ministry of Labor
Ms. Moriah Kou Yeakula
Assistant Minister for Administration

Mr. Emmett M. Crayton
Assistant Minister for Trade Union

Ms. Marion N. Wreh
Assistant Minister for Standards

Liberia Petroleum Refining Company

Mr. Edwin Sarvice
Deputy Managing Director for Operations

(replacing Mr. Aaron Wheagar who is being retired after having served the Company for more than 20 years)

Central Bank of Liberia

Mr. Milton Weeks
Member, Board of Governors

(replacing Mr. David Vinton)

Ms. Melisa Emeh
Member, Board of Governors

(replacing Ms. Mildred Reeves)

Ministry of Internal Affairs

Mr. Allen Kromah
Assistant Minister for Research, Development & Planning

The President has established a Tourism Exploratory Committee which will assist in the formation of a Tourism Agency which will evolve into an autonomous agency after separation from the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism.

Tourism Exploratory Committee

Dr. Dawn Barnes                     – Chair

Ms. Barku Tubman                  – Member

Mr. Jacqueline Capehart          – Member

Additionally, the President, based upon recommendation from the Chief Justice, also constituted an independent committee of experts from the civil society to start the process of nominating a member of the Independent National Human Rights Commission:

Mr. James Yarsiah                  – Chairman

Ms. Roseline Toweh                – Co-chairperson

Mr. Roosevelt Woods             – Secretary

Ms. T. Thompson Adebayor    – Member

Mr. Varney Jersey                  – Member

Ms. Finda Salay                       – Member

Attorney Jura A. Lynch                       – Member 

(Visited 47 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.