Liberian Government Finalizes Ebola Organizational Structure

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has released the organizational structure as the leadership to guide efforts at combating the Ebola epidemic in the country.

In a letter addressed to Speaker J. Alexander Tyler and dated August 12, 2014, Sirleaf said the Overarching Body is the National Consultative Group (NCG), which includes restrictive members from a cross-section of society which will be briefed on input on the status of government’s response.  

She said the prime leadership body of the NCG is the National Task Force (NTF), which is headed by herself and includes representatives from the National Legislature, UNMIL, US Government, European Commission and the Minister of National Defense.

Other members include the Ministers of Justice, Information, Culture and Tourism, Inter-religious Council, Labor Congress, Press Union of Liberia, Transport Union, Liberia Business Association, Youth and Women groups.

The National Technical Team (NTT)  chaired jointly by the Minister of Health and Social Welfare and the Minister of Internal Affairs will include representatives from non-governmental agencies, partners, and professional volunteers.

The President stated that the NCG will meet bi-monthly on Thursday in the C. Cecil Dennis Auditorium at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, according to the Liberia News Agency.  

Pres. Sirleaf also informed the lawmakers in the letter that the National Task Force provides overall oversight of the work of the NTT and the National Coordinator.

She maintained that the NTT will undertake general planning for implementation by all units of the government’s response.

The President further stated that the National Response Center (NRC), which is headed by Dorbor Jallah as the National Response Coordinator, will coordinate the day to day response by all units.

(Visited 42 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.