Liberia Seated On ECOWAS Court Bench

Seven new judges of the Community Court of Justice were sworn in on Wednesday, June 18,  at a ceremony presided over by the Chairman of the Authority of ECOWAS Heads of State and Government, Ghanaian President John Dramani Mahama.

The state-run Liberia News Agency, quoting a release from the ECOWAS Headquarters in Abuja, Nigeria, reported that the 44th Summit of regional leaders held in Yamoussoukro last February approved the judges’ appointments following the submission of the report of the regional Judicial Council charged with the recruitment of judges of the court.

They are Mr. Jerome Traore (Burkina Faso), Mrs. Maria Do Cue Montero Silva (Guinea Bissau); Mr. Yaya Boiro (Guinea), Mr. Micah Wilkins Wright (Liberia), Mr. Hameye Foune Mahlmadane (Mali), Mr. Friday Chijioke  Nwoke (Nigeria), and Mr. Alioune Sall (Senegal).

They replace their colleagues from Member States whose tenures have expired.

The original mandate of the court, which became operational in 2001, covers interpretation and application of community texts and human rights.

It also plays the role of arbitration and serves as a public service court for the community on matters between the community and its staff.

(Visited 34 times, 1 visits today)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.