President Sirleaf Makes New Appointments in Government

ellen johnsonPresident Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has made new appointments in government affecting the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Finance and Development Planning, Commerce and Industry, Internal Affairs, Agriculture, Justice, and the National Public Health Institute. Those appointed are:

Ministry of Foreign Affairs:

Ms. Vabah K. Gayflor                –    Resident Representative of the President of

The ECOWAS Commission to  TheGambia

Ministry of Commerce & Trade:

Mr. Roland S. Carey       –    Deputy Minister for Industry & Inspector  General

Ministry of Agriculture:

Mr. Octavius Quarbo                –    Assistant Minister for Administration

Ministry of Finance & Development Planning:

Mr. Ojuku Nyepan                –    Assistant Minister for Research, Policy & Tax

Ministry of Justice:

Cllr. Charles Karmo                 –    Deputy Minister for Codification

National Public Health Institute of Liberia:

Board of Directors:

Ministry of Finance & Development Planning    Statutory Member

Ministry of Justice/Attorney General        Statutory Member

Chief Medical Officer                    Statutory Member

President, University of Liberia            Statutory Member

Director General, Public Health Institute        Statutory Member

Dr. Moses Massaquoi                    Member

Cllr. Seward Cooper                    Member

Dr. Alex Gasasira                    Member

Mr. John B. S. Davies                    Member

Director General, Public Health Institute        Non-voting Member


Mr. Tolbert Nyenswah            –    Director General

Dr. Mosoka Fallah                –    Deputy Director, Technical Services

Mr. Henry Blake                –    Deputy Director, Administration

Ministry of Internal Affairs:

Nimba County

Mr. N. McPherson David            –    Assistant Superintendent for Development

Bomi County:

Mr. George Gbessie                –    Relieving Commissioner

Mrs. Prosperous Clarke            –    City Mayor, Tubmanburg

Grand Kru County:

Mr. John W. Mah    –    City Mayor, Barclayville City

Mr. Sonpon Kieh    –    City Mayor, Sasstown City, Jrao Statutory District

Mr. A. Weah Dweh –    City Mayor, Barfor City, Dorbor Statutory District

Mr. Francis W. Charlie, Jr.  –    City Mayor, Grancess City, Siklio/Quoajlo Statutory District

Mr. Wilson S. Wiefue   –    City Mayor, Behwan City, Trehn Statutory District

Mr. Miller Jarka            –    City Mayor, Gee City, Buah Statutory District

Ms. Annie S. Himmie  –    City Mayor, Atlantic City, Garraway, Trehn Statutory District

Mr. A. Wleh Sarplah   –    District Commissioner, Felo/Jekwi Admin. District Jrao Admin. District

Mr. Tommy Greenfield –    District Commissioner, Fenitoe Administrative  District, Dorbor Administrative District

Mr. D. Wonplue Teah  –    District Inspector, Dorbor Statutory District

Mr. Jerry K. Nagbe      –    District Inspector, Jloh Statutory District

Mr. William Gyflahn     –    District Inspector, Trehn Statutory District

Mr. Victor Sieh            –    Township commissioner, Barwon Township, Dorbor Statutory District

Mr. Moses Blayon        –    Township Commissioner, Sawken Township,Garraway, Trehn Statutory District

Mr. Joseph N. Martin   – Township Commissioner, George E. Henry Township, Wedabo Beach, Siklio/Quaojlo Statutory


Mr. Seekelon Doe      –    Township Commissioner, Elizabeth CollinsvilleTownship, Siklio/Quoajlo Statutory District

Mr. Jimmy B. Dion     –    Township Commissioner, Gbaken Township, Trehn Statutory District

Mr. Sampson Wantu  –    Township Commissioner, Dougbo Township, Treh Statutory District


Mr. Alfred O. Bai             –     Commissioner, Gbarma Admin District

Grand Cape Mount:

Mr. Z. Marley Doweh, Sr. – Relieving Commissioner, Porkpa/Gola Konneh Statutory District

Mr. Varney Fahnbulleh, Commissioner, Tallah Township.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation, where applicable.

(Visited 605 times, 1 visits today)
About Cholo Brooks 15852 Articles
Joel Cholo Brooks is a Liberian journalist who previously worked for several international news outlets including the BBC African Service. He is the CEO of the Global News Network which publishes two local weeklies, The Star and The GNN-Liberia Newspapers. He is a member of the Press Union Of Liberia (PUL) since 1986, and several other international organizations of journalists, and is currently contributing to the South Africa Broadcasting Corporation as Liberia Correspondent.